2015 Shortlist

The Red House Children's Book Award is the only national book award that is entirely voted for by children. Children across the UK have been reading and reviewing books all year long and the shortlist below is drawn up from the most popular nominations across three categories - Books for Younger Children, Books for Younger Readers and Books for Older Readers

Younger Readers

Baby Aliens Got My Teacher! by Pamela Butchart

Nosy Crow ISBN 9780857632371

One day Izzy and her friends are surprised to find that their teacher is actually being nice to them, so they come to the obvious conclusion: she's been taken over by aliens! This is a wacky, quirky and very funny debut from Pamela Butchart.

Pamela Butchart

   
As a child, Pamela was lucky enough to grow up in a house full of pets, have a mum and dad who were bonkers, and go to The Best Most Awesome Primary School in the World™. As a student, Pamela’s student jobs included: fishwife, teaching basketball in America, phlebotomist, and Artist Liaison for a (really bad) Abba tribute band. As a grown up Pamela teaches philosophy to teenagers and spends all day pondering questions such as, ‘Is time travel possible?’ and ‘How do I know I’m not really a robot?’ The stories write themselves really… Pamela lives in Dundee with her husband, Andy, and their two cats, Bear & Carlos. Carlos only has one eye and is Pamela’s hero.
Visit website        

The Bomber Dog by Megan Rix

Puffin ISBN 9780141347899

Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo’s War Horse and Lauren St. John’s animal novels, The Bomber Dog is a gripping and heart-warming story for readers aged 9 and over. It's a book about a brave puppy who joins the paratroopers during the Second World War and becomes a heroic war dog.

Megan Rix

  Megan Rix  
Megan Rix is the bestselling author of The Puppy That Came For Christmas and Stayed Forever (Penguin, Michael Joseph). Megan lives in England with her husband and their adorable dogs, Bella and Traffy, who is a ‘Pets As Therapy’ dog. Pets As Therapy is a registered charity, providing PAT Dogs and Cats with registered volunteers to hospitals, hospices, residential care homes, day centres, schools, special needs schools and many other establishments, providing comfort, companionship and therapy.
Visit website     Facebook  

Demon Dentist by David Walliams

Harper Collins ISBN 9780007936427

Children who put a tooth under their pillow for the tooth fairy are waking up to find dead slugs, live spiders and earwigs underneath. Something evil is lurking, but who or what is it? Demon Dentist is a jaw-achingly hilarious read from David Walliams.

David Walliams

  David Walliams  
Since beginning his publishing career in 2008, David Walliams has taken the children’s literary world by storm. His most recent book, Awful Auntie, went straight to number one in the UK with sales in excess of 100k copies, making it the fastest-selling hardback of 2014. This follows on from the success of Demon Dentist, Ratburger and Gangsta Granny, all of which went straight to number one in the children’s bestseller chart. David is the biggest UK children’s author to debut this century. Last year David published his debut picture book, The Slightly Annoying Elephant, which also went straight to number one and was the bestselling hardback picture book of 2013. In November 2014 David published his second picture book, The First Hippo on the Moon. David’s books have collectively sold over four million copies in the UK alone. They have also achieved unprecedented critical acclaim: Ratburger and Demon Dentist both won the National Book Awards Children’s Book of the Year.
Visit website     Facebook  
Older Readers

Noble Conflict by Malorie Blackman

Doubleday ISBN 9780552554626

Another powerful and imaginative story from children’s Laureate Malorie Blackman, Noble Conflict finds Kaspar growing up in a society based on peace and harmony – but beyond the city walls a vicious band of rebels are plotting to tear the peace apart...

Malorie Blackman

  Malorie Blackman  
Malorie Blackman has written over fifty books and is acknowledged as one of today’s most imaginative and convincing writers for young readers. She has been awarded numerous prizes for her work, including the Red House Children’s Book Award and the Fantastic Fiction Award. Malorie has also been shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. In 2005 she was honoured with the Eleanor Farjeon Award in recognition of her contribution to children’s books, and in 2008 she received an OBE for her services to children’s literature. She has been described by The Times as ‘a national treasure’. Malorie Blackman is the Children’s Laureate 2013–15.
Visit website     Facebook  

Prince of the Icemark by Stuart Hill

Chicken House ISBN 9781906427337

Described as a ‘junior Game of Thrones’, Prince of the Icemark finds Prince Redrought forced into rallying his troops to defend their tiny country following the death of his brother the King. But these aren’t ordinary enemies – they’re werewolves, vampires and zombies!

Stuart Hill

  Stuart Hill  
Stuart Hill, author of the popular fantasy novels The Cry of the Icemark, Blade of Fire, Last Battle of the Icemark and Prince of the Icemark, was born in 1958 and raised in Leicester, England where he still lives. He failed all his exams at school but was fortunate enough to be taught by an inspiring teacher who gave him a lifelong love of reading. Since leaving school he has worked as a car trimmer, a cemetery gardener and an archaeologist. It was during snatched coffee breaks from his job in a busy book shop that Stuart wrote his first children's book, The Cry of the Icemark. Stuart’s debut went on to win the inaugural Waterstones Children's Book prize in 2005, garnering extraordinary reviews and media coverage. His books have since been translated into 15 languages.
Visit website          

Split Second by Sophie McKenzie

Simon and Schuster ISBN 9781471115998

Following a terrorist attack on a London market, teenagers Charlie and Nat are bound together – but the closer they get, the more Charlie wonders if Nat knows more about the attack then he lets on. An action-packed thriller about characters whose courage and loyalty is tested to the limit!

Sophie McKenzie

  Sophie McKenzie  
Sophie McKenzie published her award-winning debut, Girl, Missing, in 2006. She has since clocked up numerous national and regional book awards, including the Red House Children’s Book Award and has been a featured World Book Day author twice. Sophie lives in London with her teenage son. She worked as a journalist and magazine editor until she was made redundant, at which point she seized the opportunity to pursue her ambition to become a writer and enrolled in a creative writing course.
Visit website     Facebook  
Younger Children

Dragon Loves Penguin by Debi Gliori

Bloomsbury ISBN 9781408839508

When a friendly dragon finds an abandoned egg on an ice-floe, a heart-warming relationship develops in the build-up to the egg's hatching. From the talented author-illustrator Debi Gliori, Dragon Loves Penguin celebrates difference and is sure to melt the heart of anyone who reads it.

Debi Gliori

  Debi Gliori  
Debi Gliori is the award-winning and much-loved author/illustrator of over 75 books for children, including the bestselling No Matter What. Debi lives in Haddington, East Lothian with her family. She has twice been writer in residence in the Shetland Isles. Her favourite colour is blue or, more precisely, four different shades of blue: cerulean blue, cobalt blue, Mediterranean turquoise blue and warm ultramarine blue.
Visit website     Facebook  

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

Harper Collins ISBN 9780007513765

Duncan wants to start drawing, but when he opens his crayon box he gets a shock – his crayons are on strike! Written by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by the award-winning Oliver Jeffers, the book offers a unique and original take on a favourite children’s activity.

Drew Daywalt

   
Drew Daywalt is an award-winning writer/director of film and TV. His work has featured on Disney, MTV, FEARnet and Syfy. He lives in Southern California.
           

Go to Sleep or I Let Loose the Leopard by Steve Cole

Random House ISBN 9781780080628

The new babysitter is trying desperately to get Joe and Ellie ready for bedtime, but they are adamant they are not going to bed... What is the babysitter to do? She comes up with a cunning plan! A perfect bedtime read from Steve Cole and Bruce Ingman.

That is Not a Good Idea! by Mo Willems

Walker ISBN 9781406355581

Hungry Fox is looking for his next meal and invites Plump Goose round for dinner. As he tries to outfox her, it becomes clear that is not a good idea... A surprise ending and knock-about humour make this book from Mo Willems one that will have young readers’ sides splitting.

Mo Willems

  Mo Willems  
Mo Willems is the author of the Caldecott Honor-winning books Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!, Knuffle Bunny and Knuffle Bunny Too as well as the Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal-winning Elephant and Piggie books. An acclaimed animator and television script-writer, he has won six Emmy awards for his writing on Sesame Street and is also the creator of Sheep in the Big City. Mo lives with his family in Massachusetts, USA.
Visit website     Facebook